Best Films of 2018 Featured in the 2nd Maginhawa Film Festival

The MAGINHAWA FILM FESTIVAL (MFF) returns for its second edition this coming December. The Festival is an initiative of CINEMA CENTENARIO, the premier alternative cinema of Quezon City along food hub Maginhawa Street. It strives to contribute in the promotion of Philippine Cinema and the development of its local audience.

Maginhawa Film Festival

This year’s edition is not only a celebration of Cinema Centenario’s first anniversary; it is also dedicated to celebrate Philippine Cinema’s Centennial years by showcasing the best films of 2018 and a selection of landmark films to represent the 100 years of Philippine Cinema.

But more than a showcase of films, there will now be a competition among the feature-length and short films categories.  They will vie for Best Film, Director, Performance, Screenplay, Cinematography, Sound Design, Editing, Production Design, Short Feature, and the Maginhawa Choice Award.


The contending films under the Main Competition section are: ARIA by Carlo Enciso Catu; Dog Days by Timmy Harn; Gusto Kita With All My Hypothalamus by Dwein Baltazar; Liway by Kip Oebanda; Musmos na Sumibol sa Gubat ng Digma by Iar Arondaing; Sa Palad ng Dantaong Kulang (Documentary) by Jewel Maranan; Tanabata’s Wife by Choy Pangilinan, and Yield (Documentary) by Victor Tagaro. The selection committee for the Main Competition was composed of Ara Chawdhury, Edward Delos Santos Cabagnot, Jessica Zafra, Raymond Red, and Sherad Anthony Sanchez while the Festival Centennial Section films are chosen by Gary Devilles of Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino, Paolo Villaluna of Director’s Guild of the Philippines Inc., Noy Lauzon of Young Critics Circle, and independent film critic, Oggs Cruz.

Two films are yet to be announced.

The short film category received more than a hundred entries and was narrowed down to twelve: AH by Aj Virtuz; Ang Pagtuklas sa Larangan ng Pagiging Maria Clara by Lady Vicente; Bahay-Bahayan by Brian Spencer Reyes; Delta by Eluigi Macalintal; Heist School by Julius Renomeron Jr.; Huli by Coco Oei; In-Tay by Leyvie Ann Santos; Jepoy by Avid Liongoren; Nangungupahan by Glenn Barit; Ngiti ni Nazareno by Luisito Lagdame Ignacio; Wala’y Humayan sa Tanglad by Neil Angelo Briones, and Yujin by Eugene Torres, and.  The selection was made by Rolando Inocencio & Tim Rone Villanueva.

The Festival will run from December 01 to 29 in Cinema Centenario and its venue partners, Pineapple Lab, Cinema Silencio, and UP Videotheque. The awards night will commence on the 9th of December. Final list of participating venues will be announced next week. For tickets and other inquiries, please send a message or call at 0945 536 7054. Ticket price will range from P150 – P200.

Leave a Reply