‘Sila-Sila,’ ‘Metamorphosis’ Lead the Winners of Cinema One Originals 2019

Giancarlo Abrahan’s gay rom-com “Sila Sila” was named Best Picture, while J.E. Tiglao’s feature debut “Metamorphosis” also emerged triumphant with five awards in this year’s Cinema One Originals film festival held last Friday (November 15) at the Dolphy Theater.

Cinema One Originals 2019 winners
Enter a caption

Best Supporting Actor Topper Fabregas with 'Sila Sila' director Giancarlo Abrahan, screenwriter Daniel Saniana and Gio Gahol

Best Picture “Sila Sila” established Giancarlo as a force to reckon with, since he had already placed first in the 2017 edition of the film fest for his sophomore film “Paki.”


“I dedicate this award to the entire spectrum in the LGBT community. . . . Nandito kaming lahat ngayon nakatayo sa harap ninyo, baklang direktor, baklang manunulat, at baklang mga aktor (We’re all here standing in front of you—a gay director, a gay screenwriter, and gay actors). We are seen,” said Giancarlo in his acceptance speech.


Aside from receiving the top award, “Sila Sila” also won Audience Choice and Best Screenplay for Daniel Saniana, while Topper Fabregas was named as Best Supporting Actor for his role in the contemporary flick which won a total of four recognition.


On the other hand, the coming-of-age drama about an intersex person, “Metamorphosis,” secured the Best Actor award for protagonist Gold Aceron, Best Supporting Actress award for Iana Bernardez, and Best Director award for Tiglao. It also won Best Sound for Immanuel Verona and Vince Banta as well as the Best Cinematography award for Tey Clamor, who shared the recognition with “Tia Madre’s” Carlos Mauricio.


Meanwhile, Victor Villanueva’s “Lucid,” which delved into the lucid dreaming phenomenon, also reaped three awards, consisting of the Best Actress distinction for Alessandra de Rossi, Best Editing for Benjamin Tolentino, and Best Music for Emerzon Texon, which Kevin Dayrit of the film “O” also won.

Finally, Dustin Celestino’s “Utopia” took home the Best Production Design award, as well as the Jury Prize.


This year’s awards jury included Lav Diaz, Paulo Avelino, Sari Dalena, Emil Hofileña, and Sungho Park.


For 15 years, Cinema One Originals has been producing breakthrough films with thought-provoking contents for the Filipino audience. Throughout these years, its purpose has always been to provide filmmakers, first-timers and otherwise, a platform to fully realize their visions.


The 2019 Cinema One Originals runs until Sunday (November 17.) For more updates, visit @CinemaOneOriginals (FB), @c1origs (Twitter) and @c1originals (IG) for more updates. #C1ORIGINALS #IAMORIGINAL

Leave a Reply