FDCP Partners with MMDA for the 42nd Metro Manila Film Festival Grand Launch

The “Countdown to MMFF 2016” grand launch will be opening this year’s Metro Manila Film Festival this December 3, Saturday, 4 pm at the SM North EDSA Skydome in Quezon City, free and open to our budding MMFF audiences, with the event co-hosted by the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP). Reflecting the changing times of our Philippine cinema, the MMFF has gone for a “cinematic revolution” with a fresh season of films–eight full-length features and a crop of short films screening this Christmas all around the country.


This year, the MMFF selection committee made the proactive decision to choose technically excellent films that focus on the quality of its story and production, rather than commercial viability and the draw of its star performers.

“The films of the 2016 MMFF will mark a turning point in the history of the festival and start a ‘renaissance’ of quality films in the Metro Manila Film Festival,” noted MMFF selection committee chair and film professor and historian Nicanor Tiongson on the curation of films this year. The selection of eight feature films this year will surely be giving MMFF audiences a different experience from the usual, a true reflection of the the world of possibility that our thriving local cinema has to offer.

The “Countdown to MMFF 2016” will be introducing the viewing public to the “Magic 8” feature films screening this year, with the entries’ filmmakers and cast giving us much to be excited about for this festival. A handful of these special guests include: Nora Aunor, Alex San Agustin, and RJ Agustin of Arturo San Agustin and Real Florido’s Kabisera, Eugene Domingo and Hanna Ledesma from Marlon Rivera’s Ang Babae sa Septic Tank 2; Paolo Ballesteros, Christian Bables, and Cedrick Juan of Jun Robles Lana’s Die Beautiful; Irma Adlawan, Sue Prado, Acey Aguilar, Cedrick Juan, Sunshine Teodoro, Ronald Regala, Timothy Castillo and Lannifel Aguilan of Alvin Yapan’s Oro; Ronnie Alonte, Neil Ryan Sese, Phoebe Walker, Dominic Roque, JR Versales, and John Vic de Guzman of Erik Matti’s Seklusyon; Julia Barretto, Ronnie Alonte, and Maris Racal of Ted Boborol’s Vince & Kath & James.

The viewing public can await the Metro Manila Film Festival entries to premiere on December 25, 2016, running until January 7, 2017 in major cinemas in Metro Manila and throughout the country, with FDCP Cinematheques screening the MMFF and a retrospective from its previous editions as well. Join us for the “Countdown to MMFF 2016” and discover an all-new MMFF!

Leave a Reply